Digital Storage Conversion


Digital Storage Units

Computers store information in the form of "1" and "0"s in different types of storages such as memory, hard disk, usb drives etc. The most common computer memory unit is byte which is 8 bits.

Computer data is expressed as bytes, kilobytes, megabytes as it is in the metric system, but 1 kilobyte is 1024 bytes not 1000 bytes.

Computer memory units are: bit (b), byte (B), kilobyte (KB), megabyte (MB), gigabyte (GB), terabyte (TB), petabyte (PB), exabyte (EB), zettabyte (ZB) and yottabyte (YB).

1 byte is equal to 8 bits.

1 kilobyte (KB) is equal to 1024 bytes and 8192 bits.

1 megabyte (MB) is equal to 1024 kilobytes (KB), 1048576 bytes and 8388608 bits.

1 gigabyte (GB) is equal to 1024 megabytes (MB), 1048576 kilobytes (KB), 1073741824 bytes and 8589934592 bits.

Enter a valid value